Come and join us at the ‘Roll of Honour’ dinner in June

We are getting to that time of year again, when the new inductees to be added to the Welsh Sports Hall of Fame ‘Roll of Honour’ are selected by the trustees.

Last year our ‘Roll of Honour’ numbers rose to 140 after five new names were added to the most exclusive list in Welsh sport at the 29th annual dinner at the Village Hotel, Cardiff on Wednesday, 20 June, 2018.

Wales Women’s football manager Jayne Ludlow, Commonwealth Games badminton gold medalist Kelly Morgan, cricket World Cup winner Lynne Thomas, double Olympic silver medalist and world cycling champion Becky James made it a great night of success for Welsh sportswomen. The former Wales rugby league player and coach, Roy Francis, was a posthumous addition to the list.

2018 Inductees
2018 Roll of Honour Inductees

Who will join them at this year’s event at the new venue of Cardiff City Stadium on Wednesday, 26 June?

Fancy being there to find out? Well, you can join some of the golden greats of Welsh sport, along with many current and rising young stars and sports influencers.

Full details on how you can join our exclusive sporting gala are included on these links English/ Welsh


Just to remind everyone about the terms of reference for the trustees when choosing new inductees, here is the recently revised criteria for inclusion:

“Induction to the Welsh Sports Hall of Fame is reserved for those Welsh women and men, whose exceptional achievements over the course of their careers in any theatre of sport, have enhanced Wales as a Nation and brought honour to themselves and our Country.”

Only those athletes who have retired are considered for selection, which means the likes of newly crowned world cycling champion Elinor Barker, Real Madrid soccer superstar Gareth Bale, Tour de France champion Geraint Thomas and record breaking Welsh rugby captain Alun Wyn Jones are not yet eligible.

But there are dozens of other great candidates in line to be honoured at one of Welsh sport’s greatest annual gatherings. Why not come and join us – it’s going to be another memorable night! We hope to see you there.

29th Annual WSHoF ‘Roll of Honour’ Dinner Award Winners

Roll of Honour Inductees
Roy Francis (Rugby League)
Becky James (Cycling)
Jayne Ludlow (Football)
Kelly Morgan (Badminton)
Lynne Thomas (Cricket / Hockey)

Rhodri Morgan Memorial Award – The ‘Rhodri’
City of Cardiff

Peter Corrigan Welsh Sports Media Award
Steve Bale (Sunday Times)