Welsh Sports Journalists of the Year

Wales has a long-standing reputation for producing the highest quality sports reporters and commentators. The Welsh Sorts Hall of Fame launched its annual ‘Welsh Sports Journalist of the Year’ award in 1990 and the list of recipients reads like a ‘Who’s Who’ of the industry.

The former sports editor of The Observer, Peter Corrigan, was the first recipient of the award. He later became a Trustee of the Hall of Fame and his son, Jamie, followed in the footsteps by winning the title in 2004 for his work at Wales on Sunday.

The award was renamed the ‘Peter Corrigan Welsh Sports Media Award’ in 2017 following the death of Peter in 2016. The first recipient of the newly-named award was Mark Orders, of the Swansea Evening Post. He was followed in 2018 by Steve Ball, who ended his illustrious career at the Sunday Times.

Peter Corrigan Welsh Sports Media Award Winners
1990: Peter Corrigan (Observer)
1991: Ken Jones (Independent)
1992: Bob Humphrys (BBC Wales)
1993: Paul Rees (South Wales Echo)
1994: Stephen Jones (Sunday Times)
1995: Huw Llywelyn-Davies (BBC Wales)
1996: Peter Jackson (Daily Mail)
1997: Ron Jones (BBC 5 Live)
1998: David Facey (The Sun)
1999: Geoff Nicholson (Independent)
2000: Brian Madley (The People)
2001: Michael Boon (Western Mail)
2002: Eddie Butler (Observer)
2003: Graham Thomas (BBC Wales)
2004: Jamie Corrigan (Wales on Sunday)
2005: Gerald Davies (The Times)
2006: Paul Abbandonato (Western Mail)
2007: John Hopkins (The Times)
2008: James Lawton (News of World)
2009: Robin Davey (South Wales Argus)
2010: Hamish Stuart & Steve Pope (Sporting Wales)
2011: No Award
2012: Carolyn Hitt (Western Mail)
2013: Rob Phillips (BBC Wales)
2014: Chris Wathan (Media Wales)
2015: Dot Davies (BBC Wales)
2016: Riath Al-Samarrai (Daily Mail)
2017: Mark Orders (Swansea Evening Post)
2018: Steve Bale (Sunday Times)